

News Release

Little Switzerland FFA Wins Iowa FFA Farm Business Management CDE

The Little Switzerland FFA Chapter from Waukon was named the Champion Team in the annual Iowa FFA Farm Management Career Development Event held at Iowa State University in Ames on April 24, 2018. Members of the first place team included: Danielle Stock, Makayla Manning, Gabrielle Marti, and Nathan Helgerson. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Ms. Jessica O'Connor. They will represent Iowa at the National Farm Management Career Development Event in Indianapolis, Indiana, in October. The Montezuma FFA Chapter from Montezuma was named the Reserve Champion Team. Members of the second place team included: Daniel Bryan, Jesse Moyer, Harry Hamilton, and Jared Theis. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Rick Swenson and Ms. Lindsey Schanbacher. Dylan Barker, Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA, was named the High Individual Overall in the competition. The Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA Chapter from Adel was the winner of the Team Participation Activity.

FFA teams from 83 chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event designed to provide the student an opportunity to display their agricultural knowledge and skills in the area of Farm Management. The 317 individuals who participated in the event each completed an objective test which had three sections: economic principles, records and analysis, and risk management. All team members worked together to solve a problem related to break even analysis.

The Iowa FFA Farm Business Management Career Development Event was made possible with support from NextEra Energy and the Iowa Farm Business Association through the Iowa FFA Foundation. Dr. Ron Deiter, Professor of Economics at Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, was the Career Development Event coordinator and prepared the test with assistance from Dr. Georgeane Artz, Assistant Professor of Economics.

Top 10 Teams

- 1 Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon
- 2 Montezuma FFA, Montezuma
- 3 Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA
- 4 Osage FFA, Osage
- 5 Lynnville-Sully FFA, Sully
- 6 Cascade FFA
- 7 Roland-Story FFA, Story City
- 8 Clay Central/Everly FFA, Everly
- 9 Decorah FFA, Decorah
- 10 Starmont FFA, Arlington

Top 10 Individuals

Dylan Barker, Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA

Gabrielle Marti, Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon

Nathan Helgerson, Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon

Mariah Vos, Lynnville-Sully FFA, Sully

Mitchell Hayes, Starmont FFA, Arlington

Danielle Stock, Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon

Daniel Bryan, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma

Jesse Moyer, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma

Harry Hamilton, Montezuma FFA, Montezuma

Jacee De Vries, West Lyon FFA, Inwood

Below is a list of chapters participating by medal group.

Gold Teams (22)

Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon

Montezuma FFA, Montezuma

Adel DeSoto Minburn FFA

Osage FFA, Osage

Lynnville-Sully FFA, Sully

Cascade FFA

Roland-Story FFA, Story City

Clay Central/Everly FFA, Everly

Decorah FFA, Decorah

Starmont FFA, Arlington

Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi

Wapello FFA, Wapello

Belle Plaine FFA

Holland FFA, Orange City

Hawkeye FFA, West Bend

Monticello FFA, Monticello

Algona FFA, Algona

Audubon FFA, Audubon

Northeast FFA, Goose Lake

Harlan FFA, Harlan

Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood

Atlantic FFA, Atlantic

Bronze Teams (36)

MVAO FFA, Mapleton

Nashua Plainfield FFA, Nashua

Pleasantville FFA, Pleasantville

East Union FFA, Afton

OA-BCIG FFA

Washington FFA, Washington

Brokaw FFA, Clarinda

South Winneshiek FFA, Calmar

Storm Lake FFA, Storm Lake

Vinton-Shellsburg FFA, Vinton

North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union

Albia FFA Chapter, Albia

BCLUW FFA, Conrad

Griswold FFA, Griswold

Hudson FFA Chapter, Hudson

Cherokee FFA

Ballard FFA, Huxley

South Hardin FFA, Eldora

Interstate 35 FFA

Missouri Valley FFA

Nevada FFA, Nevada

Silver Teams (27)

West Lyon FFA, Inwood

Gilbert FFA Chapter, Gilbert

Newton FFA, Newton

South Central Calhoun FFA, Lake City

Bedford FFA

Sigourney FFA, Sigourney

HLV, Victor

West Delaware FFA, Manchester

Riceville FFA, Riceville

Central Lee FFA, Donnellson

Sioux Central FFA, Sioux Rapids

ACGC FFA

Southeast Polk FFA, Pleasant Hill

Bellevue FFA, Bellevue

East Sac FFA, Lake View

Tri-County FFA, Thornburg

DeWitt Central FFA

Calamus-Wheatland FFA, Wheatland

West Dubuque FFA, Epworth

LeMars FFA Chapter, Le Mars

Mediapolis FFA, Mediapolis

Dallas Center-Grimes FFA, Grimes

Rock Valley FFA

Panorama FFA, Panora

West Marshall FFA, State Center

Diamond Trail FFA, Monroe

Ridge View FFA, Holstein

East Buchanan, Winthrop
Dowling Catholic FFA
M-F-L-Mar-Mac FFA, Monona
South O'Brien FFA @ Paullina
Woodward-Granger FFA, Woodward
Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa
Independence FFA
Southeast Warren FFA, Liberty Center
Williamsburg FFA, Williamsburg
Charles City FFA, Charles City
Belmond-Klemme FFA, Belmond
Forest City FFA, Forest City
Nodaway Valley FFA, Greenfield
Oelwein FFA, Oelwein

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 15,300 student members as part of 235 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.